Entertanment

Play Overwatch For Free Thanksgiving Week

Blizzard Entertanment’s Overwatch certainly doesn’t need extra promotion. Whenever a new character is introduced, the fans do the promoting for Blizzard, creating thousands of fanarts and flooding the Internet with them in 24 hours. The co-op team shooter is ingeniously built with Internet culture in mind, introducing colorful characters while giving you JUST enough story to spin your imagination and create your own narratives.

But if Blizzard could pick a new promotional campaign, this is the one we’d have no argument with: they’re making the entire game free for a week. Thanksgiving Week — a time when millions of people will have time off to sample Overwatch. Beginning Tuesday, Nov. 20 at 11 AM Pacific / 2 PM Eastern, anyone can download the game and play with any of the 29 introduced characters, including new Ashe.

Depending on your system of choice, Overwatch won’t be ENTIRELY free — going online with Playstation 4 or XBox One requires a PSN or XBox Gold subscription respectively. But you likely already have one of those to play some other game. On PC all you need is a Blizzard account and the Battle.net client, both of which are free.

The promotion ends Monday, Nov. 26 at 11:59 PM Pacific / 2:59 Eastern, at which point new gamers will have to pay a fee to continue playing. But all the progress they make during the free week will carry over into the paid game.

[“source=cnbc”]